Working across Maharashtra with local health practitioners to enable them in delivering better, respectful and quality care services to pregnant mothers during and after childbirth.

What is LaQshya-Manyata?

The LaQshya-Manyata program aims to reduce maternal and newborn mortality, morbidity and stillbirths that are preventable and are contingent upon the care provided during delivery in labour room and Maternity OT, in private hospitals (maternity care)

The program is set out to establish a sustainable quality improvement and quality assurance mechanism for private hospitals (maternity care) in Maharashtra. This is to ensure quality care is standardized for private hospitals , and they are encouraged to follow evidence based standard treatment protocols during conduct of normal labour and management of obstetric complications.

To deliver on the ‘quality improvement’ component of the program – district level training structures, jointly established by Public Health Department – Government of Maharashtra, FOGSI and Jhpiego, provide capacity building opportunities for private hospitals (maternity care) which register for the program. The registered hospitals are trained on clinical, essential patient care, safety and facility improvement components based on set of 26 standards of Quality of Care (which include 16 clinical standards and 10 facility standards). These standards have been carefully identified by renowned private OBGYN specialists and their organizations and partners which cover components that are vital for delivering quality maternal and newborn care, covering components that are vital for delivering quality maternal care. The two-day training package focuses on capacity building of the team of the hospital for obstetric, neonatal and identified facility emergencies. Furthermore, the program, with flexible training sessions and simplified standards, is designed to meet private providers’ diverse needs, making it particularly suitable for small private hospitals (maternity care).

In terms of ‘quality assurance’, private hospitals receive LaQshya-Manyata certification, for ensuring safe and respectful maternal care. Nominated members from Public Health Department – Government of Maharashtra and FOGSI, who have been trained, certified and empaneled jointly by them, conduct assessments of the facilities once they declare that they are ready for final assessment.

At a juncture, where the private sector accounts for nearly one third of the institutional deliveries in the state of Maharashtra – this partnership, expected to have presence in all districts of Maharashtra, is a significant move towards advancing maternal and newborn health outcomes in the state. The LaQshya-Manyata program aims to reduce maternal and newborn mortality, morbidity and stillbirths that are preventable and are contingent upon the care provided during delivery in labour room and Maternity OT, in private hospitals (maternity care).

The Objectives of the Program

  • To develop and implement quality improvement and assurance model for private hospitals (maternity care)
  • To expand the program in all private hospitals (maternity care) in the state
  • To encourage the private hospitals (maternity care) to adhere to clinical and facility standards
  • Establish regional/district level quality improvement and assurance support structures which are self-reliant, sustainable and scalable
  • Documenting learnings and effectiveness of the program

LaQshya-Manyata Clinical Standards

C1. Provider screens for key clinical conditions that may lead to complications during pregnancy. (To be verified only among booked cases)
C2. Provider prepares for safe care during delivery (to be checked every day)
C3. Provider assesses all pregnant women at admission
C4. Providers conducts PV examination appropriately
C5. Provider monitors the progress of labor appropriately
C6. Provider ensures respectful and supportive care
C7. Provider assists the pregnant woman to have a safe and clean birth
C8. Provider conducts a rapid initial assessment and performs immediate newborn care (if baby cried immediately)

C9. Provider performs Active Management of Third Stage of Labor (AMTSL)
C10. Provider identifies and manages Postpartum Hemorrhage (PPH)
C11. Provider identifies and manages severe Pre-eclampsia/Eclampsia (PE/E)
C12. Provider performs newborn resuscitation if baby does not cry immediately after birth
C13. Provider ensures care of newborn with small size at birth
C14. The facility adheres to universal infection prevention protocols
C15. Provider ensures adequate postpartum care package is offered to the mother and baby – at discharge
C16. Provider reviews clinical practices related to C-section at regular intervals

*C in the serial numbers stands for Clinical Standards

LaQshya-Manyata Facility Standards

F1. The facility provides curative & RMNCH services
F2. The facility has safe secure infrastructure for delivery of assured services, as per the prevalent norms
F3. The facility provides patient friendly environment and undertakes patient/attendant/community education activities
F4. The facility has equipment & instruments required for assured list of services and has programme for maintenance and calibration of Equipment
F5. The facility has procedures for storage, inventory management and dispensing of drugs and procedures for safe drug administration

F6. The facility has defined and established procedures for nursing care, and for informing patients about the medical condition, and involving them in treatment
F7. The facility has defined and established procedures for maintaining, updating of patients’ clinical records and their storage
F8. The facility has adequately trained manpower and defined processes for continuous capacity building required for providing the assured services to the case load
F9. The facility attempts to improve quality and measures clinical care & safety and reviews service quality indicators periodically
F10. The facility has established procedures for preoperative assessment, preparation and monitoring of the patients during surgery and anesthesia

*F in the serial numbers stands for Facility Standards.
Facilities which achieve a score of 65% in facilty standards and 85% in clinical standards will qualify to receive the certification.

Our Partners

Government of Maharashtra


The National Health Mission (NHM)


Public Health Department


Federation of Obstetric and Gynaecological Societies of India





MSD for Mothers


MacArthur Foundation